Plenary speakers

Dr Alan Finkel AOHon Steven Marshall MP

Hon Steven Marshall MP

Premier of South Australia and Member for Dunstan

Steven Marshall is South Australia’s 46th Premier. He was elected to the South Australian Parliament for his local area in 2010, and was re-elected at the 2014 and 2018 elections to his local seat.

In 2013, Mr Marshall became the Leader of the Liberal Party, which formed Government in South Australia following the 2018 state election. Mr Marshall has responsibility for the portfolios of Defence and Space Industries, Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation, the Arts, Veterans’ Affairs and Multicultural Affairs.

The ICHS organising committee is pleased to welcome Mr Marshall to open ICHS 2019 on day one of the conference.

Dr Alan Finkel AO

Dr Finkel commenced as Australia’s eighth Chief Scientist in January 2016. Prior to his appointment, he served as President of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), and for eight years as Chancellor of Monash University.

As Chief Scientist, Dr Finkel is leading the development of the national hydrogen strategy at the request of the Council of Australian Governments. He also led the 2016 National Research Infrastructure Roadmap, the 2017 Review into the National Electricity Market (“Finkel Review”) and the 2018 STEM Industry Partnership Forum report. He serves as the Deputy Chair of Innovation and Science Australia.

Dr Finkel has an extensive science background as an entrepreneur, engineer, neuroscientist and educator. He was awarded his PhD in electrical engineering from Monash University and worked as a postdoctoral research fellow in neuroscience at the Australian National University.

Dr Finkel will be presenting on hydrogen safety at scale on day one of the conference as part of the global political plenary.